John and Luther Cole Farmstead
Historic elements blend with contemporary features and amenities in Joel and Natalie Schloesser’s 1880s farmhouse which was built as the original farmstead of early Watertown pioneers John and Luther Cole. Located at N806 N. Water St., the Schloesser’s home will be one of six houses open for viewing during the 19th annual Holiday Parade of Homes on Sunday, Dec. 2.
Historical records show the Schloesser’s home was sold in 1900 to the Wahl family and in 1959 to the Darcey brothers with the Schloesser family acquiring it in 2001. As part-owner of Colonial Builders, Joel, with Natalie’s input, made extensive renovations to the home between 2009-10. The work completed spanned three floors and included three additions which were focused on preserving and showcasing the original elements of the home. The cream city brick chimney stands as a focal point in the open floor plan, the original front door now serves as a unique swinging kitchen pantry door and some of the original fieldstone foundation is exposed on the exit to the mudroom.
The elegant handcrafted staircase and large open kitchen are focal points of the home. All countertops throughout the kitchen and bathrooms, as well as the bench in the mudroom, are custom concrete countertops designed and built by Colonial Builders. Unique handcrafted furniture adorns the home including the antique radio, the bunk bed with circular staircase, and the antique ivory-keyed piano, which is a family heirloom dating back to the early 1900s.
History of Watertown, Wisconsin